EG: Chapter 2.1

Enigma: Chapter 2.1 (Erika)


Since I was little, I was known by the nickname “Omen.” For those of you who are good at English or have a good English dictionary, you would know that literally, ‘omen’ means “sign.” A neutral meaning.

It could be a good sign, it could also be a bad sign. However, if you have ever watched the movie, ‘The Omen,’ you would know that the word ‘omen’ referred to a child who was evil and horrifying, the incarnation of an Anti-Christ, whose hobby was killing people as he pleased. For me, who grew up in a large intimate family and had a hobby of watching horror movies together like other people watching football matches together, bearing that nickname really made my childhood feel like hell.

Not that I was born with the looks and traits of a child in the movie The Omen. After I was born, I was normal like all of you. Cute and innocent face, helpless little body. The only thing that was slightly different in me was that I had a photographic memory. Meaning, I won’t forget anything I’ve seen once. In fact, I’ve never forgotten anything I’ve heard either. That was why I could speak much faster than Eliza, and my knowledge increased extraordinarily fast.

Since Eliza had not been able to speak at all yet, I thought I also couldn’t speak yet. However, while celebrating our first birthday, I was so excited to see a birthday cake for the first time, I said with my lisp tongue, “Lika wants more than Lica’s.”

It was the first time I saw the horror expression on my parents’ faces. They looked at me as if I was possessed. Later, I found out that was exactly what they thought. That their first child was possessed by an evil spirit. It didn’t occur to them at all that I could speak faster than Eliza because I was so much smarter.

But at that time, I still didn’t know anything. I was happy to be able to talk and express my heart, without realizing that it often frightened my parents.

“Lika’s clothes are wipped. Lika wants to wear Lica’s clothes. “

What they heard was: Rika accidentally tore her own clothes so she could take Liza’s clothes.

“There was an ant on Lica’s clothes, so Lika just killed it.”

As a child, she already understands the concept of killing, even though no one has taught her.

“Lika doesn’t want the locust jumping awound, so Lika just bwoke its two hind legs.”

She tortured the poor animal for her own pleasure. Where did that cruelty come from?

In no time, all of this was spread to other relatives. Every time I walked passed by, everyone immediately whispered.

“Even though they are so similar, why are their hearts so different, huh?”

“Liza is so sweet. Look at her smile, it’s really cute. Meanwhile Rika’s smile looks sly and cruel.”

“Look, how different the auras of the two children are. Liza’s aura is shining white, while Rika’s aura is dark and black. How terrifying. “

“She is exactly the little boy in the movie ‘The Omen.’ You all remember, right? “

“Then, let’s just call her Omen.”

And so, since I was two years old, I’ve been known by the nickname Omen.

But, hold on, don’t be misunderstood. It was not like I was willing to be harassed. Even though I didn’t understand the meaning, I could feel their hatred towards me. So, I just gave some gifts to each of them. I smeared some paint on Aunt Remi’s favorite chair and stained the aunt’s ass with two cute yellow circles which, unfortunately, she thought it was very vulgar. I shaved Uncle Yusman’s favorite mustache, making the poor man almost cry when he saw his reflection in the mirror. I tied the tail of Grandma’s beloved cat so that it couldn’t be removed again because the cat was determined to scratch anyone who dared to come near.

Obviously, my act made me even more hated. But then, so what? Even without all of that, they have stigmatized me over so many kinds of things. At least, in this way, I was satisfied with teaching them a lesson. Let them know that even though I was young, I couldn’t be taken for granted.

Now, if you’ve ever read a book about the solidarity between twins, let me tell you something — not all twins behaved like that. Eliza refused to cooperate with me in teasing those annoying adults. Even worse, instead of defending me, she was on their side.

“Lika is bad,” she said in a wise pretentious voice as she sang her baby doll a lullaby, which clearly was an inanimate object and didn’t need much attention. “If Lika twies to be cute as Lica, evewyone will also wuv Lika. “

Annoyed to death, I did not answer, but took away the baby doll. Then, I didn’t know what I was thinking but I started to pull out the doll’s organs, including its hair, until finally the doll was left with useless pieces. And during the times I mutilated the doll, Eliza continued to cry and scream until our parents came.


T/N: Hello Lady Grey is here. Thank you for reading this novel. I realized that I haven’t posted any chapter of Enigma last week because my headache was on and off last week.. I’m so sorry. I hope you’re fine I posted the supposed to be posted today with the today’s chapter… also, if you don’t mind, I hope you could give some love for this novel in novelupdates… here is the link https://www.novelupdates.com/series/enigma/ … thank you so much once again… 💕


Chapter 1.3 | ToC | Chapter 2.2 (announcement)

Leave a comment